top of page

2020's out, start 2021off right by setting goals




As 2019 drew to a close, I decided to deviate from my regular rhythm of closing a year and beginning another by setting goals.


Don’t get me wrong I am a firm believer in goal-setting; I follow the inspirational direction as laid out by Tony Robbins.

He sets out a path for setting and achieving your goals as follows:


1 Set your goals

2 Be clear on your purpose and your reason for your goals

3 Take massive action towards your goals, and if it doesn't work out then change your approach

All my life, since I was introduced to the concept of personal goal-setting, I have set goals at the beginning of each year.


I’ve categorised my goals: body, career, money, house, children, personal development, and educational.

My goals almost would become like a checklist and at the end of the year when I would tally up chances are, I would have accomplished some of the things that I set my mind to.

The close of 2019 was different... the beginning of 2020 was different; I felt as though I had experienced so much upheaval in my life recently.'


Between leaving my job, leaving my marriage, getting into a relationship that was so not right for me, losing myself, resurrecting myself — and doing some of the work that I needed to do to feel whole again — I just felt like I did not want to set goals.


I felt like I wanted just to see what life had in store for me.


Of course, there were certain basics that would still be there just because I enjoy things like exercise and eating well.

I did not, however, want to be rigid with myself; I wanted to allow for fluidity. So, at the beginning of 2020, I set a word, yes, a word! And my word was ‘simplify’.


Simplify for me meant shedding the extra [stuff]. Simplify for me meant paring it down to the core of what's important. I tried to live that word as 2020 began.


I tried to live in a way that embodied ‘simplify’ in all aspects of life and then, lo and behold, the universe conspired to help me (as it often does), and 2020 brought a global pandemic that further helped me simplify.

Unfortunately, my room is still messy (although I did manage to cull my closet). I still am a packrat, though it's hard for me to let go of things.


Unfortunately, I still am an aggressive over-scheduler because there is so much, I feel the call to do.

So, chances are you will catch me doing more than one thing at the same time. Part of me says that's my Gemini nature part of me says ‘well that's just the way I was born’.

I still want to take the word 'simplify' with me into 2021 but I think I'm gonna attach some goals to it.

Although setting one word alone did change the spirit with which I approached life, I recognised the importance of setting specific goals.


As you reflect on 2020 and how it's been for you, what are your plans? What do you want to accomplish in 2021?

Yes, I understand that the world is different, and sweetheart I think the world is going to be forever different.

But, you have a choice: complain about the differences while you mourn the loss of your status quo or embrace the change and the life that comes with it.


I suggest we move purposefully in a direction of growth and self-improvement.


Share your goals with me, if you'd like to, share your desires for 2021 with me, share with me what you want to hear more of from me and let's just keep on taking one step at a time towards your healthiest, happiest, sexiest self.

Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Google+ Basic Black
bottom of page